Week 13: P90X / INSANITY hybrid *** FINAL RESULTS & RECAP ***

Three months fly by in a flash and now I’ve completed my 4th round of P90X ( or more accurately 3 and 1/3 rounds of completion ).  The last final week went by fine and it was just a recovery week so no hard workouts.  I initially thought I would push for more working out but it didn’t turn out that way so I settled for doing the minimum.  Nutrition has been good but I felt that I didn’t eat enough and not only that I didn’t really vary my meals ( a lot of PBNJ sandwiches and smoothies 😛 ) with good nutritious content.  Food was running low and I always try to shoot for doing my main shopping every 2-2.5 weeks starting from the beginning of the month.  I notice that I have a tendency of sliding away from eating well once my food supplies drop or that I don’t have a good plan in place.  It’s always a good idea to recognize these kinds of behaviors so I do recommend following some sort of nutrition plan and even better keep a food journal of some sort.  Anyway I’m more than happy with the results I got even though they’re no nowhere near as dramatic as my first round when I went all out.  Though I definitely feel physically stronger overall.  I’ve attached some stats and pics to illustrate.  Be sure to click on them to view them larger:

Final Results July 02 – Oct 1 / 2012

Progress Chart

Overall Stats

Bodyfat composition over time

Looking at my overall progress using pictures, spreadsheet, and a graph we can definitely notice my change in composition.  My progress was pretty steady during the first half and then began to level out with areas of no progress and decreased results.  These non-progress areas are highly attributed to poor nutritional behaviors such as eating out quite a bit or eating food that does not have good nutritional value.  In addition days where I was pretty sedentary despite working out were also a factor in these non-progress areas ( I’m looking at you Netflix on Demand, in particular Breaking Bad which is pretty darn good TV show by the way 😀 )

Overall, I almost met my goal of dropping down to 32in on my waist and only missed it by 1/2 of an inch which is not a big deal.  Having a specific goal in mind whenever embarking on an a committed routine is always a must and keeps you focused on whatever tasks you need to do to successfully meet it.  Consistency is also key so stick to your workouts and keep track of them as you go along.  As I’ve done in the past, print out a calendar and cross out those days where you’ve finished a workout.  By the end, you’ll feel proud that you committed yourself to working out X number of days.  On another key note, try not to be like me where I have a tendency to see-saw with my fitness.  I’ll go at for awhile when I’m committed and then for whatever stupid reasons or BS excuses I let go and lose everything I worked hard for.  Be reasonably steady overall with your fitness, except for periods like Christmas and Thanksgiving :).  Anyhow, those are my tips for anyone doing any kind of exercise program whether it be P90X or your own wkout at the gym.  This round is now finished and I’ll be keeping it easy this upcoming week while prepping up for Asylum.  I did mention the return of the vlog  so I’m pretty stoked to go at again with that format so look forward to checking it out!

 

 

Leave a comment