Taco Salad —> Punishment = P90X Plyometrics & Salsa Dancing

So, I was craving a taco salad today and decided to grab one from this Mexican restaurant place downtown Santa Cruz which I frequented quite a bit pre-P90X.  It’s pretty expensive but the amount of food you get is enormous.  I remember downing my first taco salad from this place and man I could barely finish it.  Matter of fact I couldn’t finish it the first time and many other times.  Well, today I had my taco salad with carne asada and I devoured that thing.  Not a single fried taco shell, meat, and whatever crap that was in there was completely gone.  In the end, I was pretty stuffed but I have to say… it no longer tastes that great anymore.  That probably will be the last time I have that there.  You can only like things for so long and eating cleanly I really don’t like eating that gargantuan unhealthy meal.  It must’ve been well over 1000+ calories but I ate it anyway because I know I can without worrying about gaining weight or so.

Good thing, I had my second private lesson for salsa dancing to lightly let it digest.  My instructor broke her foot almost 2 months ago so we couldn’t do our private lesson then but she’s fully healed and back to teaching.  Zak told me I had improved tremendously since the last time we had a lesson.  That really gives me great confidence!  I still have a way to go to get to the level of where I want to be but it’s great to know that I have improved quite a bit.  She showed me three pretty cool patterns that I can use.  Only 1 private lesson left so hopefully I can learn more and receive more feedback on what I can do to improve.

Anyway, I wasn’t up for taking the Intermediate/Beginning class since I just had my lesson but since an hour or so passed I figured I might as well workout.  So what workout is the best for punishing yourself after a binge eat?  That would be P90X Plyometrics!  My best buddy just did this workout today for the first time and he’s liking it.  I still have this workout as one of my top P90X workouts and man did I push it today.  Beads of sweat were dripping off me like crazy.  I haven’t lost any cardiovascular fitness since I finished my first round whatsoever.  I don’t know why but I really feel like this is the most intense I’ve felt in awhile in terms of doing this workout.  Perhaps it’s that darn taco salad that made it harder.  The interesting thing is when the sweat was coming into my eyes, it really burned!  Like putting your eyes in ocean water!  I’m guessing the sodium content from that salad came out.  Crazy huh?  Also, since I had my heart monitor, I had to see how many calories do I burn in this workout and how high does my heart rate go?  I burned 760 calories and attained a heart rate of 176bpm.  Pretty damn high!  Insanity is suppose to push you into the 85% and above.  According to my max heart rate which is roughly 194 bpm, 176 bpm is about 90% of my max heart rate!  Certain exercises do that, I think the one that probably drives my heart rate up the highest is the Jump Knee Tucks.

Man, Insanity is going to be crazy!  Because I know well for a fact you’re doing crazy stuff similar to jump knee tucks but for minutes at a time.  I can’t wait to try it out!

The punishment continued with a salsa night at the Palomar and it was fun.  I got to try out what I had just learned which is the best way to put things into long-term memory.  My friend was there and she told me I had improved so much since the first time that we met.  Now I really know, I’m getting better!  This is something that I will excel at.  My goal is to be one of those salsa dancers where partners really want to dance with me.  This will probably take a long to accomplish but as long as I continue to try to improve little by little, I’m going to get pretty damn good at dancing salsa.