INSANITY Day 7: OFF *** WEEK 1 COMPLETE ***

No craziness today!  Woohoo!  Not having a workout today is a great relief.  With that being said, Week 1 of INSANITY is now in the books!  It’s been awesome trying out this program and I am really looking forward to testing my limits every day with the killer workouts.  I would say the hardest workout so far has been Plyometrics Cardio Circuit though it was a bit easier to do yesterday.  My overall impression of this program is that is extremely hardcore and only people with the right mindset and determination are probably the only candidates for going through with it.  It is not easy and I can see why some people would not want to continue after being blasted with the intensity of INSANITY.  For me, I am a person who loves to push my body to its’ limits.  I did it with P90X and even prior to that I was working out in the gym trying to give it my all.  Interval training is not new to me as I have done interval sprints with running.  Of course that relies primarily on your lower-body strength.  This program uses your entire body which is really key for seeing results in a short amount of time.  I really like this concept of max interval training with long bursts of intensity followed by short periods of rest.  INSANITY feels like it’s making me stronger everyday that I’ve done it.  The workouts are addictive and I will be sure to add them in the next time I do the “X”.

Yesterday and today I’ve been working on getting my stuff together for my nutritional needs this week.  I hate preparing stuff but it has to be done otherwise I’m going to be spending way too much time making food.

Tomorrow is Cardio Power & Resistance.

A Fun Halloween Weekend Saturday!

I had some of the most fun time in a long time on a weekend.  Sometimes I always amaze myself at how much I can really talk because generally I’m a rather quiet/reserved person.  Yesterday morning, I called up a friend out of the blue at around 1am and we ended up talking for 3 hours or so.  Whenever this happens I always refer to it as “time flashes.”  Time just disappears in a flash when you’re having a badass conversation with someone.  After sleeping off for  5 or 6 hours, I woke up and went right into my INSANITY workout and loved every minute of the tortuous cardio routine.  Following immediately from that, I picked up that same buddy who I talked to that morning to join me for my Latin Salsa Dance workout at school and thank goodness she felt like coming otherwise I would’ve been the only person that showed up 😛

The only boring part of yesterday was running errands around and doing grocery shopping.   I haven’t been serious with my nutrition since I started INSANITY so I went through my guide and picked out what I was going to eat for the next week or two. From there, I made an ingredient list and went out to shop.  I ended up spending 150 bucks on everything! Sigh…it’s expensive to eat well…but it’s worth it 🙂

Around evening time, I picked up my salsa buddy whom I’ve been seeing around every Friday or so and we went to the Palomar Monster Bash which is the same place that I do salsa at.  It was awesomely fun!  Got to see a variety of dances that they teach at the Palomar and of course do a little social dancing.  The head person actually developed a funny little dance routine called the monster bash where you do a sequence of acting like a zombie and the undead.  Hilarious!  There wasn’t a huge turnout but still it was lively.  I guess the best part of it was that I won 1st place for the costume contest!  I knew one day I was gonna don my dress blues uniform from the Navy days and yesterday was that day.  I love that uniform because of how sharp and formal it looks.  My prize was a free 4-week series class and bunch of other goodies.

After doing all that, I decided to stop by my friend who joined me this morning in my dance class so that she could check out my sailor outfit.  Unfortunately she seemed kinda down when we met up.  Though I was able to cheer her up quite a bit talking about the SNL skit with the impersonation of Sean Connery which is so freakin’ hilarious, food, working out with P90X/INSANITY and tons of other random tidbits.

Lately, my weekends and a lot of my free time has been spent doing not very exciting stuff. Days like these make me realize that I really need to balance out having fun and doing serious stuff like school or work.  Life is way too short!